Revisiting the 20’s Wish List


Looking forward

I remember when 40 was old and uncool.  I was a teenager and my parents seemed stodgy and boring.  So now that I’m 40, how do I measure up?  Our generation has managed to push out the definition of old age farther out than 40, but I feel officially ‘not young.’  I’ve still struggled with the beginning of the midlife crisis.  So what does being 40 mean to GenX?

There’s some pride in survival and a few accomplishments to date.  A comfort in my own skin and self-acceptance I didn’t have at 20.  A little softer in opinion, a little wiser about the world, a little saggier and wrinklier and squishier.  There’s both more to worry about and less to worry about when you’re 40.  I don’t worry about what others think, but I do get concerned about community and global things.

Now I’m not saying that I’ve lost my optimism.  I was never optimistic, Xers tend to be realists.  But I have grown more optimistic about what my children can do.  And what God can do.  And on days when I feel very weak and insignificant, I try to remember the dreams I held for the future when I was 20 and looking ahead, because the future is finally RIGHT NOW.

I now have the experience,  money, health and opportunity to do all those things I dreamed about so long ago.  The larger question is… do I still want what was on the list?  Or do I now have different goals?

I do know that it’s only mid-life.  There’s still half of a life left after the birthday cake and the accompanying feelings of panic and crisis.  All we’ve done so far is the beginning of what’s next.  We can have fun, love a great deal and make a bit of a difference in the next 40 years.  We might be un-young, but we can still be GenX cool.

Musical pairing: “Right Here, Right Now,” Jesus Jones, 1990.

Leave a comment